Pricing...where To Start?

Decorating By mama5kiddos Updated 25 Jul 2008 , 10:42am by Mike1394

mama5kiddos Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mama5kiddos Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 8:11pm
post #1 of 8

I am just starting out, and not sure how much to charge. I have read alot of posts where people charge $2.25-4+ per serving, etc. Do most of you ONLY charge per serving, or do some charge based on the size of cake (and detailed work). I am mostly going to specialize in "party" cakes, until I build my confidence up for wedding cakes.

I have my website up, but am nowhere near where I want to be on it. I had to put something up for pricing, and I just put down what I thought was fair. Over here in my "neck of the woods" people are so used to paying Walmart/Cosco pricing on their cakes...so nobody wants to go over at all. (even family that i offered to make the cake for FREE they just have to purchase supplies/ingredients...they declined and said they would go for the $15 costco cake!)

Please check out my website and give me any needed tips on pricing (like what would you charge for the cakes i have made? All of them were gifts to family or for my kids so far) and/or website layout help.

MUCH TIA!
www.silkysweets.com
LL

7 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 9:03pm
post #2 of 8

Ok, first, stop taking pics of cakes next to your sink. Some ideas are to drape a sheet over your counters and tape it up onto the upper cabinets, then set the cake on the sheet. Or have someone hold the sheet up behind the cake (I have my daughter do this sometimes).

I dont' care that everyone is "used to" walmart pricing. They can't get your cakes at walmart so stop comparing yourself to walmart. Your work is very good and merits a good price.