How Much Should I Have Charged?

Decorating By Bela38 Updated 24 Jul 2008 , 4:31pm by kelleym

Bela38 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bela38 Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 12:35pm
post #1 of 11

For these cakes I charged $45 each. I know it was a bit low. Especially since the supplies, time, gas, etc. was up in the $30s for both together. I know that pricing varies from region to region, but if you have experience with pricing and you're from northeast PA bordering with NJ or western NJ, how much would you have charged? I'm new at this and what started to be just for friends and family is now extending to friends of friends, etc and I'm not sure what to charge.

2 tier cakes with fondant and gum paste decorations
LL
LL

10 replies
Pookie59 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pookie59 Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 1:18pm
post #2 of 11

I'm not sure it matters where you live... probably double what it costs you would have a better price, so about $60 each minimum.

SUELA Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SUELA Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 1:29pm
post #3 of 11

I don't know what the going rates are where I am (Ottawa Canada), and I don't think I could get it for what you made, but easily $75 each. They are gorgeous!

CakeMommyTX Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeMommyTX Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 1:29pm
post #4 of 11

Are those 6"&10" tiers?
I charge per serving, and a 6" & 10" serve 40 according to my chart.
So at $3.50 per serving , plus the cost of the topper , and a delivery fee the total would be about $160.
HTH!

mommicakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommicakes Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 1:32pm
post #5 of 11

I am in agreement with yourstrulytx. $160 fits the price. Great work by the way!!!! icon_biggrin.gif

junny629 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
junny629 Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 1:38pm
post #6 of 11

yourstrulytx, where can I find a chart showing how many servings for each cake?

CakeMommyTX Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 1:47pm
post #7 of 11

I use the chart on Earlene's site