I Need Some Help With My Wilton Giant Cupcake Please

Decorating By floophs Updated 21 Jul 2008 , 3:06pm by floophs

floophs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
floophs Posted 21 Jul 2008 , 1:42pm
post #1 of 6

OK, my son's b-day party is tomorrow and I'll be making the giant cupcake. He's requested that the top part of the cupcake be white cake and the bottom half chocolate. He really wanted the whole thing to be frosted with canned frosting icon_cry.gif but I just think that will look goofy. So I was wondering if you thought it would be ok to frost the bottom chocolate half with the chocolate frosting and the top half with bc. My hubby thinks the cupcake "grooves" from the pan will get lost on the bottom of the cupcake if I frost it...but I don't really want to leave it bare (plus, my son wants canned chocolate frosting). Do you think it will be fine to frost the bottom?

Sorry for the silly question but I'm still very new to decorating cakes. icon_redface.gif Any additional advice would be greatly appreciated too. Is there anything fun (but farely easy) I can do other than just swirling the whole top with bc?

Thanks everyone!

5 replies
Tweedie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tweedie Posted 21 Jul 2008 , 1:59pm
post #2 of 6

You could take the edge of a knife and press it in the sides of the bottom to regain the look of the grooves (would probably need to clean off the knife after each time, or just run the knife tip down the bottom in lines and remove a bit of the icing). As for the top I have seen pictures where it looked like a large star tip was used to pipe rosettes all over the top of the cupcake and I think it looks great!

Shelly4481 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shelly4481 Posted 21 Jul 2008 , 2:00pm
post #3 of 6