Just Fyi - How I Do My Nfsc Dough Process...

Baking By 1234me Updated 16 Jul 2008 , 3:51pm by tyty

1234me Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
1234me Posted 15 Jul 2008 , 7:18pm
post #1 of 4

I tried to take pictures and will attach them if it works. I am no expert but so many people have asked questions about NFSC lately so I thought I would share how I do it and maybe some others will share their way and I can learn some hints/tips from them icon_smile.gif

I usually make several batches in one setting. The thing I hate the most is measuring out the flour. One day I figured out that a 3lb sour cream bowl I had held exactly 6 cups of flour so I use that now to measure my flour instead of actuallly scooping it out. I put the sour cream bowls in my sink to help with the mess and just pour the flour into the bowls to the first rim. Some people use a scale to get the exact weight - I don't have a scale and this method works great for me. (picture 1)

Then I go ahead and add my baking powder to these buckets (picture 2)

I take the butter out in the morning and let it sit on the cooktop or counter until it is at room temperature. (picture 3)

I follow the directions and make the dough in my mixer. (no picture of this)

I then put the dough into LARGE ziploc bags to store. I put it in the fridge if I know I will be using it soon or put int he freezer if I don't need it right away. (picture 4)

I sometimes use the dough right away or put it in the fridge to let the butter harder a little. Then I take it out of the fridge. I pull out a hand full of the dough and set it on my counter (granite countertops if it matters) (picture 5)