Coloring In A Picture

Decorating By welch628 Updated 9 Jul 2008 , 2:07pm by terri76

welch628 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
welch628 Posted 8 Jul 2008 , 5:56pm
post #1 of 17

What's the best way to color in a picture that I draw on a cake? I'm new to cake decorating, and I can't figure this out. I can draw a picture free hand or use piping. I know I can fill it in using the little stars, but I'd rather not. Is there another way? Like on this picture--how was this colored in? Thank you so much for any help you can give me! [img][/img]
LL
LL

16 replies
naomig123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
naomig123 Posted 8 Jul 2008 , 6:50pm
post #2 of 17

If this was ordered from us, we would have tried to airbrush or use an edible image then pipe over.

jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 8 Jul 2008 , 11:45pm
post #3 of 17

I use a round tip and fill in the best I can. Then use the Melvira method to smooth it out. Lastly do the outline in black (or whatever color). I have several examples in my gallery.

gottabakenow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gottabakenow Posted 8 Jul 2008 , 11:57pm
post #4 of 17

piping gel? chocolate transfer? icon_confused.gif not really sure.

terri76 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
terri76 Posted 9 Jul 2008 , 12:05am
post #5 of 17

I would use the FBCT method with this one.

CocoaBlondie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CocoaBlondie Posted 9 Jul 2008 , 12:08am
post #6 of 17

This definately looks like airbursh to me! If you don't have one I would use the technique jammjenks posted for you.

Rincewind Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rincewind Posted 9 Jul 2008 , 12:25am
post #7 of 17

You can use a glaze to fill in the picture after you have piped the outline of the picture. I've only done this twice (on my Sophie and Baron Humbert cakes)-- so I'm not an expert-- but I've seen some really neat cakes done this way.