Wood Grain On A Cake

Decorating By ChristianCakeBaker Updated 7 Jul 2008 , 3:41pm by missmeg

ChristianCakeBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChristianCakeBaker Posted 6 Jul 2008 , 8:19pm
post #1 of 11

i am making a birthday cake for my FIL and since he's a cabinet maker i am going to do a wood grained cake with some tools. i need to know how to make wood grain on a cake. i'm not an excellent artist or anything icon_razz.gif - but i've seen cakes with wood graining done on them and they look awsome. so, i need some good instructions on making wood grain. ANY advice is greatly appreciated. icon_biggrin.gif

and also, does anyone know if michaels sells tool molds?

thanks!

10 replies
terrig007 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
terrig007 Posted 6 Jul 2008 , 8:34pm
post #2 of 11

Do you have the confetti cakes book? She talks about it on page 205. Basically dye 1 lb fondant light brown and twist with 3 lbs white. Roll out to 1/4 inch thick and here's what's next-take brown gel color and mix with vodka and paint the fondant. Do this until you get the desired color you want. When I did the wine crate cake I also took toothpics and put a little indentation in the fondant to look like some imperfections in the grain and it came out okay. HTH

terrig007 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
terrig007 Posted 6 Jul 2008 , 8:34pm
post #3 of 11

Forgot to add-I have never seen any molds other than teddy bears or ducks for candy at Michaels but that's just what I remember-perhaps someone else has seen it.

Wendl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Wendl Posted 6 Jul 2008 , 8:38pm
post #4 of 11

I made up some woodgrain fondant by rolling together (but not mixing) wood grain colored fondant (browns -lt and dk- and black) and applying as I needed to. I didn't use any gel (in case you don't have any on hand). Check the pirate hideaway cake in my pics for how I used it.
Am going to make some more for a cake this week, for the cake board.
Good luck,
Wendl
)O(