Question About Cookie Picture Posting Protocol

Baking By TracyLH Updated 7 Jul 2008 , 5:47pm by GeminiRJ

TracyLH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TracyLH Posted 6 Jul 2008 , 11:59am
post #1 of 8

Hi! As a newbie, I want to do the right thing, so I think it best to ask the experts. I have cookies pics to post, but have some questions about protocol and what is okay. Here are the scenarios:

1) I made cookies for my father for Father's Day using an elenis design. Not my own idea at all - blatantly used their design ideas. Can I post them if I say the idea came from elenis?
2) If I see a fab cookie idea that someone else did on the site, do I need to ask permission first from them before posting the cookie I did? I see that many times people ask if they can use the design, but don't get a response. Is it okay as long as I give them credit for the original idea?
3) If I use a to-die-for cookie idea from someone else on the site, but can't remember who had the original idea to be able to give them credit for the creativity I didn't muster, do I say "idea from the gallery' or not post it at all.

Thanks so much from a newbie who just wants to do the right thing! :0)

7 replies
chyana66 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chyana66 Posted 6 Jul 2008 , 12:13pm
post #2 of 8

Hi TraceyLH, all your ideas are great. We all get our ideas from somewhere, whether something specific we've seen, or a variation of that. Giving credit, when you can, is a wonderful way to thank someone whose design you liked. Chances are they got the idea from someone else too icon_smile.gif

Can't wait to see your cookies icon_smile.gif

Mac Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mac Posted 6 Jul 2008 , 12:15pm
post #3 of 8

As long as you give credit to the people or design maker, you are OK to post it.

If you can't remember, just post that you were inspired by a CC member but can't remember who.