Cake Boards

Decorating By dbdg Updated 6 Jul 2008 , 3:01pm by leah_s

dbdg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dbdg Posted 4 Jul 2008 , 7:48pm
post #1 of 17

i am relatively new to decorating (started last year) and have mostly done cakes for family. i am now getting requests from friends (including a wedding!!! super stoked over this) i also did a decorating contest at the fair. however, i did not do as well as i might have due to unattractive boards(comment from judge "ordinarily i would place this cake first but this cake has a nice board and today she is first"). so i am curious about what material u use, how u cover it ext.

16 replies
bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 4 Jul 2008 , 8:32pm
post #2 of 17

Hi, I always cover my boards with Fondant. I don't know about any other materials that can be used. icon_smile.gif

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 4 Jul 2008 , 8:55pm
post #3 of 17

There are many things one can use to cover purchased cake boards with.
Freezer paper
Mylar wrapping paper
Florist's foil
Even fabric covered w/plastic wrap.
OR buy cake doilies (but NOT paper, lace ones).

janebrophy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
janebrophy Posted 4 Jul 2008 , 9:14pm
post #4 of 17

I'm curious about this too! dbdg - did you use a regular foil board, and she called it ugly? I can only buy from bulk barn locally, and am very limited, as they only carry the silver foil covered boards. They don't even have drums! Does anyone purchase boards online? Any good reccommendations?

divaofcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
divaofcakes Posted 4 Jul 2008 , 9:21pm
post #5 of 17

I have actually found that foam core boards (I buy at Michael's or Hobby Lobby) are the strongest boards to use for the money. I usually cover them with silver foil wrapping paper unless I have a special request.

pumpkinroses Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pumpkinroses Posted 4 Jul 2008 , 9:36pm
post #6 of 17