How Do You Balance Family And Caking?

Decorating By rlviescas Updated 3 Jul 2008 , 8:47pm by Jovy

rlviescas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rlviescas Posted 2 Jul 2008 , 4:26pm
post #1 of 16

I am very new to cake decorating and l love it. I have a wonderful husband and a two year old daughter. I had a conversation the other day with my dh that go me wondering. Those of you who do this for fun or even as a home business and you have a family, how do you balance everything. I am typical "peace-maker" and a perfectionist too. So of course I feel like I should be able to do everything for everyone all the time. I really want to develop some skills in caking. Not sure if I ever want a full time business . . . Either way I don't want my family to suffer. My dh is not as enthusiastic as I am about my new found passion. icon_surprised.gif Though he is supportive.

15 replies
HBcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HBcakes Posted 2 Jul 2008 , 4:55pm
post #2 of 16

Balance is hard! I have a full-time day job, my kids are 4,3,1, and right now I have 7 more wedding cakes on the books for this year as well as plenty of other types of cakes. It's a good thing my office job is flexible so I bring my kids with me sometimes to spend more time with them. My husband also helps out at home by doing stuff for me and with the kids; he's very supportive and that makes a difference. You just learn to organize your time really well so you can get to everything. We are very strict about not doing anything on Sunday, so I have a whole day to just be with the kids; we take walks, take them out for fun stuff, etc. During the week, I have lists for everything I want to accomplish at home, at the office, with cake stuff, etc. in a day so I don't waste any time and can use any downtime to do stuff with my kids or get ahead somewhere else. We women just want to have everything, do everything, and I can't seem to say no to anything icon_smile.gif Good luck with your goals!