Edible Bugs?

Decorating By TyeRiley Updated 2 Jul 2008 , 1:26am by LittleLinda

TyeRiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TyeRiley Posted 1 Jul 2008 , 3:20pm
post #1 of 8

I am brand new at cake decorating. As in I don't even start my first wilton class until tomorrow evening. But it's my son's first birthday and we have nicknamed him Bug. So for his birthday I'm wanting to make him a cake the way my mom always made mine. I want to make a cake for him to smash up and eat on his own and maybe matching cupcakes for everyone else. The issue I'm having is I have made the fondant bumblebees, they look so cute but taste horrible(I used the wiltons fondant).
So what can I use to make them that tastes good?
Like I said I am new to this so I am still a bit confused when it comes to fondant, gumpaste, ect.
Any ideas on how to make some other bugs too?
Thankyou for your help.

7 replies
mjballinger Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mjballinger Posted 1 Jul 2008 , 3:35pm
post #2 of 8

My first thought is that maybe you could try and make marshmallow fondant, which tastes nothing like the Wilton fondant. There are recipes here for it.... it's very good and fairly easy to make.

You could also make candy clay, which is essentially candy melts (Wilton makes some) and corn syrup. The directions or recipe are also on here, I'll try to find them and put the links in as soon as I post this. It tastes really good and you can use it pretty much like clay!

Okay, link to candy clay
http://www.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-1985-candy-clay-for-modeling-3d.html

The next poster posted a link to marshmallow fondant.

~Jen

Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 1 Jul 2008 , 3:37pm
post #3 of 8

to make them taste good....

don't use Wilton fondant.....

that's the problem.

if you can, use SatinIce or make your own:
Marshmallow Fondant (MMF)
which you can flavor all kinds of ways.