Hiring Help: Hourly Or Percentage?

Business By cakeldy1 Updated 8 Jul 2008 , 11:11pm by mjcakes

cakeldy1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeldy1 Posted 1 Jul 2008 , 4:20am
post #1 of 15

I am new to this forum, but I have read other topics and have been helped by them, so I am giving a shout out to other business owners on this one! Thank you for taking the time!

I have been working out of a bakery for the last 9 years and I have finally added on to my house, and have my own place to work (licensed and all!) I have never been an "employee", but have worked under my business name. I have given the store owner a percentage of my profits to "pay" for the space and the help. I would like to have my own help in my new shop, but I am concerned about paying by the hour. I have seen the help that I pay a "percentage" for, take hours to do something that I know they could do in 1/2 the time or better. I've been thinking about hiring a few people to do the work based on tasks and paying a percentage of what I believe it is worth, ie. Baking a wedding cake, making a bucket of frosting, base icing per cake., etc. They will have a deadline and flexible hours. Any thoughts? Thanks for the time!!

14 replies
cakeldy1 Posted 1 Jul 2008 , 4:23am
post #2 of 15

I wanted to add that I am currently doing about 4 wedding cakes per weekend, and my assistants are helping me produce about 30 other cakes per week. Thank you!

jessfmaldonado Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jessfmaldonado Posted 1 Jul 2008 , 4:26am
post #3 of 15

I say, Where are you, and I will come work for you! lol icon_lol.gif . I think percentage isn't a bad idea. I actually didn't know there were places that paid like that instead of hourly. I think it would be better for a business to run like that.

Jessica

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 1 Jul 2008 , 4:31am
post #4 of 15