Black Onyx Cake

Decorating By carisa Updated 14 Jan 2007 , 4:22am by Crimsicle

carisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carisa Posted 12 Jan 2007 , 3:08am
post #1 of 18

I have a request for a cake to look like it has a black onyx finish. I will start with black fondant, but what do I use to make the metallic finish? Is there a black lustre dust? Do I mix it with the fondant or apply on top of the fondant? Has anyone done this before? Do I use a brush or does it have to be airbrushed for a smooth, even finish?
Also, how does Italian meringue buttercream hold up under fondant? I have only ever used Wilton's buttercream under my fondant cakes.
Thanks in advance!!

17 replies
sweetlybaked Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetlybaked Posted 12 Jan 2007 , 3:14am
post #2 of 18

I've never used luster dust before, but from the look of the cakes on here that have it on them, it more makes them sparkle, not shine. Maybe you could use a thin coat of piping gel to make it shine? HTH.

ShirleyW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShirleyW Posted 12 Jan 2007 , 3:22am
post #3 of 18

I am thinking of black onyx as being a solid colored stone. Are you thinking of one with gold marbleing in the onyx itself? The black fondant from Satin Ice is shiny when applied and smoothed so that will take care of the shine you want. If you want it extra shiny you can brush it lightly with Crisco on the palm of your hand, brush back and forth with a paintbrush and the warmth of your hand will slightly melt the Crisco. Then just brush it onto the fondant covered cake.

If there are going to be metallic gold abstract lines across the surface you could use Old Gold luster dust mixed with Everclear, if you want a shiny bright gold you could use the same Old Gold but mix a bit of Super Pearl Luster dust in with the gold before adding the alcohol. You could paint an abstract line with a fine artists paintbrush and then smear it lightly with a dry paint brush.