Car Cake

Decorating By m1m Updated 27 Jun 2008 , 1:31pm by mimi2004

m1m Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
m1m Posted 26 Jun 2008 , 4:00am
post #1 of 11

I'm thinking of making a car cake for my son.

How would I go about elevating the body of the car itself so that is looks like a real car? I've seen pictures of cakes where the body of the car sits flat on the cake board, but this is not what I wanted to achieve.

Hope this makes sense.

Thanks. icon_razz.gif

10 replies
edith123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
edith123 Posted 26 Jun 2008 , 4:07am
post #2 of 11

I'm so sorry that I can't help you but if somebody has the answer for that I would really like to know icon_biggrin.gif

twooten173 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
twooten173 Posted 26 Jun 2008 , 4:11am
post #3 of 11

Ok I just made a truck cake and I glued styrofoam blocks to the board and then glued the board that was actually holding the cake to the blocks.

It's my first attempt so please don't laugh icon_biggrin.gif
LL

miny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
miny Posted 26 Jun 2008 , 4:16am
post #4 of 11

I put the McQueen car I made on a styro base, you can get it at michaels, the thing is that I did not measure the height before I just cut the wheels on my cake and they were to high!!! icon_redface.gif well the idea was there but I coud not do it right I'll get it right next time for sure, so if you decide to do the base, make sure you measure before adding your wheels it's in my pics if you want to see it. icon_wink.gif

twooten173 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
twooten173 Posted 26 Jun 2008 , 4:22am
post #5 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by miny