First Cake W/ Fondant Accents!

Decorating By Ruby2uesday Updated 22 Jun 2008 , 8:26pm by bashini

Ruby2uesday Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ruby2uesday Posted 22 Jun 2008 , 1:18am
post #1 of 8

I'm very pleased! I've never worked with fondant before this and i'm kind of a newbie to the deco scene. i did it a long time ago, but just getting back started and never did to much. Anyway, today was my son's 11th bday party and i saw the picture of the cake on the box of the Wilton's Silly Feet Cake stand. I LOVED IT! i bought the stand too. lol Well i didn't use the stand cause i made a 10in round cake and didn't have enough room for my confetti curls so i just used my cake carrier base, but i'm very happy with the way it turned out! I started my curls on Tuesday night and used hangers that i cut today with a pair of big cutters and they stayed pretty good. glad i made a ton cause i did have some breakage! I used the premade Wiltons primary color box because i work 2 jobs and it was handy. i did find that zapping it in the micro and using crisco worked the best for me. anyway it's not letting me load the pics to my photo album but i was to excited not to share!!! Thanks to Launa for all the help through PM!!! Y'all are the best.

7 replies
Tweedie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tweedie Posted 22 Jun 2008 , 1:32am
post #2 of 8

It's a great looking cake...you did a wonderful job! Your buttercream is so smooth and perfect and I love the curls. Very fun and I'm sure you're son loved it!

chelley325 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chelley325 Posted 22 Jun 2008 , 1:35am
post #3 of 8

That is such an adorable cake! You did a fantastic job and I agree, your buttercream looks flawless!

briannastreats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
briannastreats Posted 22 Jun 2008 , 1:41am
post #4 of 8

I love all your curls... great job!!!! And I ditto the others... your buttercream looks terrific!!!

Launa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile