Mmf Help Asap!

Decorating By LindsayLu Updated 20 Jun 2008 , 9:05pm by milissasmom

LindsayLu Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LindsayLu Posted 20 Jun 2008 , 5:00pm
post #1 of 13

I am made a MMF and I colored it pink for a cake that I making TODAY!!!
I have been kneading it for a long time adding crisco and it will not stop tearing. I am still a beginner, but have done this at least 5 other times with no problem. I even made a new batch and the same thing is hapening! Does any one have any idea what I can do please let me know ASAP!

12 replies
ashcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ashcake Posted 20 Jun 2008 , 5:05pm
post #2 of 13

You may need to add some more crisco or liquid. It sounds like it's too dry. Like you added to much PS. Have you tried putting it into the microwave for a few seconds? This helps me.

HTH

mcdonald Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mcdonald Posted 20 Jun 2008 , 5:06pm
post #3 of 13

crisco and microwave... sounds dry to me too

Kitchen_Witch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitchen_Witch Posted 20 Jun 2008 , 5:11pm
post #4 of 13

Definately throw it in the microwave! I swear its like a magic wonder-box for fixing MMF problems. Tearing? Put it in the microwave. Color not mixing well? Put it in the microwave. Having a horrible day and nothing is working? Well, microwaving your MMF won't fix that but you get the idea! icon_lol.gif

LindsayLu Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LindsayLu Posted 20 Jun 2008 , 5:45pm
post #5 of 13

Ok is it possible for this to be to moist. When I knead it it is tearing, but when I roll it out it stcks in big chuncks to the table when I try to lift it up. I just tried heating for a 15sec then added a tiny bit of water. No luck then I added some crisco. It is terrible! I am really starting to freak out!
What else do you guys think I shoud try???? I have been kneading forever!

ashcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ashcake Posted 20 Jun 2008 , 5:52pm
post #6 of 13