Do You Think Brands Matter Much?

Decorating By Lenette Updated 18 Jun 2008 , 6:50pm by BakingGirl

Lenette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lenette Posted 18 Jun 2008 , 4:09pm
post #1 of 16

I am a scratch baker and am considering costs on my ingredients.

I have been very faithful to certain brands of butter, vanilla, etc. Do you think that a brand of butter like Land O Lakes for instance makes any difference to your baking vs. a store brand?

What about vanilla? I always used Nielsen-Massey (sp?)? Do you think other brands produce the same results as long as they are pure extracts?

What things are you brand specific on? What things have produced almost identical results?

I am asking largely because I can get some things at a better price in quantity than buying at the grocery but they are not necessarily the same brands I have been using.

I appreciate your thoughts on this! icon_smile.gif

15 replies
mbelgard Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mbelgard Posted 18 Jun 2008 , 5:23pm
post #2 of 16

Part of it depends on your tastes.

I don't care what brand of butter I use but I only use Betty Crocker cake mix.

You should try different things and see what you think of each.

tenleysmommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tenleysmommy Posted 18 Jun 2008 , 5:39pm
post #3 of 16

For me I buy whatever butter is the cheapest and have never tasted a difference.And I can't believe I am going to say this,Indydebi is always spot on icon_biggrin.gif I prefer Duncan Hines,For Vanilla I hate using clear,but I just use the wilton for that,I use the same brand you do but I use pure vanilla bean paste.Just like Indydebi said just gotta try it out.

Oh, I recommend only eating Kraft mac and cheese to me no name brand will do!! icon_lol.gificon_lol.gif

wgoat5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wgoat5 Posted 18 Jun 2008 , 5:46pm
post #4 of 16

LOL I can't get over the ORANGE color of the blue box... BUT.. that's another topic LOL icon_wink.gif