Making Fondant Shapes

Decorating By thedessertdiva Updated 12 Jun 2008 , 1:16pm by azureblu

thedessertdiva Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thedessertdiva Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 10:05pm
post #1 of 14

I have shapes that go onto a wedding cake for Sat night. I'd like to cut them out tonight to get that part out of the way. How do I store them once cut so thery are nice to go onto the finished product? (can you all tell I have never worked with fondant before in my life...lol)

13 replies
Molly2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Molly2 Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 10:39pm
post #2 of 14

Are they flowers or what kind of shapes and also you may need to do that so the will have time to dry.

Molly2

thedessertdiva Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 10:44pm
post #3 of 14

Leaves, circles and a vine pattern that climbs up the side of the cake. Once I cut these out, how do I store them until Sat afternoon?

CharmingConfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CharmingConfections Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 10:48pm
post #4 of 14

I usually store mine in a tupperware container laying flat. Unless you need them to be hard, then I'd leave them sitting out.

apetricek Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
apetricek Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 10:51pm
post #5 of 14

just remember that if they get hard that they will be flat and will not sit nicely against the cake. Sometime with these you have to do them right as you do the cake, and put them on there. I learned this the hard way after making all of them in advance, and then trying to put them on the cake, and them breaking and looking like crap!!! Hope this helps good luck!

LetThereBeCake07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LetThereBeCake07 Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 10:56pm
post #6 of 14

if they dry then however they dry is how they will be, no moving around or adjusting.