Just Bought Sweetex, Long

Decorating By TheCakerator Updated 5 Jun 2008 , 1:21am by MichelleM77

TheCakerator Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheCakerator Posted 3 Jun 2008 , 4:41pm
post #1 of 36

Ok so I just bought two pounds of sweetex shortening from my cake supply store. I have never used this before, just use plain old 0 trans fat Crisco from wal mart. I have a wedding on Saturday along with a grooms cake. The car ride is almost two hours and then it will sit in a hall until reception time. The weather here is supposed to be warm and humid and possible thunderstorms. The van is going to be air conditioned but I am concerned about using my standard buttercream dream recipe off this site because in all honesty even though it taste's great, it doesn't crust that well for ME. There is going to be either black or red ribbon on this cake and I am nervous that it will bleed if the icing starts to get wet at all. So what I am wondering is, what is the purpose of this sweetex? Does it help it to crust? Can I use it in the buttercream dream recipe just omit the other crisco? Does it taste good? Does it smell ok? Should I use a whole new recipe?? Can someone please help me make a good tasting very well crusting buttercream recipe for a wedding cake and grooms cake for this saturday that will hold up well in a long car ride, and sit in the hall until its time to get eaten. Any help is greatly appreciated as this is only my third wedding cake and I am nervous about the ribbons bleeding and the icing melting. Thanks anyone!!!

35 replies
christeena Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
christeena Posted 3 Jun 2008 , 5:21pm
post #2 of 36