Ok, Is It Just Cheap Fondant?

Decorating By Acts238girl Updated 3 Jun 2008 , 5:29pm by Acts238girl

Acts238girl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Acts238girl Posted 2 Jun 2008 , 12:08am
post #1 of 17

I use Wilton fondant (newbie here - sorry!) but I'm not sure if it's the fondant, or me, because almost every cake I make the fondant stretches and then rips on the side. I've tried different thicknesses, adding flavoring, letting it dry a bit - I'm sort of at a loss here! Maybe it's the fondant? Any ideas out there?!

16 replies
tracey1970 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tracey1970 Posted 2 Jun 2008 , 12:12am
post #2 of 17

Wilton fondant is not great. Try Satin Ice. Also, I roll my fondant out a bit thicker, and I roll it out on a mat lightly rubbed with shortening (versus cornstarch or powdered sugar). The shortening helps the fondant stay pliable and resist tearing. So does the thicker roll out.

butterflywings Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
butterflywings Posted 2 Jun 2008 , 12:15am
post #3 of 17

wilton fondant sucks BUTT! it smells like chemicals, tastes like crap, its HARD & dry when you take it out of the "alledged" air-tight packaging. it's not you dear, it's the wilton fondant. i use satin ice too and i LOVE it. i've made my own MMF but wasn't crazy about the taste (it's ok, just not what i'd expect on a "fancy" cake) and i've got Michele Foster's recipe from this site and i'm gonna give it a try.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 2 Jun 2008 , 12:40am
post #4 of 17

I'm opposite here. I'm not anti Wilton and actually don't mind their fondant. I actually think it is a great texture to work with while you are learning.