Please Help Me Price My Cookies! I'm New At This And

Baking By twinsmake5 Updated 31 May 2008 , 12:19am by twinsmake5

twinsmake5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
twinsmake5 Posted 29 May 2008 , 7:54pm
post #1 of 6

struggling with pricing. Don't want to price too high or too low either. These are for a 1st grade teacher at my kid's school. She wants 30.
LL

5 replies
cakekrayzie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakekrayzie Posted 29 May 2008 , 9:57pm
post #2 of 6

i was like you when pricing my cookies but i came up with something that works for me and maybe it might help, i used the spread sheet to calculate how much it costs me to make a batch of dough, a batch of frosting, and the type of bags i use the cost per bag, and whenever i have to make cookies i figure about how many cookies i can get out of each batch and divide it on the spread sheet, factor in how may batches of frosting and get a price of what it would cost to make, decorate, and bag each cookie, then depending on design i add to each cookie for example it costs me about .50 cents to make a baseball cookie, baseballs are not very hard to decorate so I charge a dollar a ball, but for something harder i charge anywhere form 1 to 2 dollars extra. your cookies are beautiful so i figure how much per cookie, i think you should charge about 2 for each of your cookies. I hope this helps

FromScratch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratch Posted 29 May 2008 , 10:10pm
post #3 of 6

Don't forget to factor in the time it takes to decorate them. I'd charge $1 per inch. Those are about 3" cookeis right? So $3 each or $90.00 for 30 of them. If she wants them bagged up individually then that would be extra. icon_smile.gif

cakekrayzie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakekrayzie Posted 29 May 2008 , 10:14pm
post #4 of 6

i agree jkalman

aliciaL_77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aliciaL_77 Posted 30 May 2008 , 10:34pm
post #5 of 6

I agree with $3 each.