Are You Ever Satisfied?

Decorating By NickiKR Updated 28 May 2008 , 11:32pm by Price

NickiKR Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NickiKR Posted 27 May 2008 , 5:36pm
post #1 of 25

Are you ever completely satisfied with your final results? I am very new to this, so I am still learning and making plenty of mistakes.

When I delivered a cake on the weekend, the client went on and on about how much she loved it. I kept thinking "Can't you see the ding in the buttercream or the off-centre top tier?"

I wonder if the satisfcation with the final product will ever outweigh the need for perfection?

Do you still have cake insecurities?

24 replies
diane Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
diane Posted 27 May 2008 , 7:41pm
post #2 of 25

we are our worst critics. we are the professionals, so we can see the flaws...but they can't. they have no idea how you put together and decorated a cake. if she's happy with it, then smile and be happy and press on! thumbs_up.gifthumbs_up.gif

gottabakenow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gottabakenow Posted 27 May 2008 , 7:48pm
post #3 of 25

happy with it, yes. i spose so. perfectly satisfied, no. lol

cakelady15 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakelady15 Posted 27 May 2008 , 7:51pm
post #4 of 25

I never think that my cakes look good enough. I haven't been decorating them for very long, but everyone always thinks they look so good. I think the reason I am not happy is because I compare them to all the other cakes I look at. I have to remind myself that the people that are getting my cakes aren't looking at beautiful cakes all day and they are impressed with anything that doesn't look like it came from the grocery storeicon_smile.gif I looked at your pictures and your cakes are very nice so you shouldn't be so hard on yourselficon_smile.gif

Denae Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Denae Posted 27 May 2008 , 7:54pm
post #5 of 25