Need Help Working With Fondant?

Decorating By katwomen1up Updated 26 May 2008 , 7:09pm by katwomen1up

katwomen1up Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
katwomen1up Posted 26 May 2008 , 1:23pm
post #1 of 6

I have never worked with fondant and would love to do the stacked books for my DI's graduation anything I should know? Any helpful hints?

TIA

Kat

5 replies
katwomen1up Posted 26 May 2008 , 2:21pm
post #2 of 6

Bump

Tiababe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tiababe Posted 26 May 2008 , 2:43pm
post #3 of 6

I have never done stacked books before, so I can't offer any tips on that specific design. However, what has helped me since working with fondant is practice. I am working on a farm cake for my son's second birthday and I am telling you there is a huge difference between the first animal I made and the last! Also, coloring can be tricky. Start out with a little paste color and build up--the colors can deepen as they sit. Wilton's fondant is not the best tasting. However, I have used it for decorations I don't intend for anyone to eat. That is about all I know since working with fondant is new to me; hopefully someone with alot more experience can help you out too. I am also interested in doing books, so I definetly would love to hear from anyone else who has done that design. Good luck!

ladyonzlake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladyonzlake Posted 26 May 2008 , 2:51pm
post #4 of 6

I use SatinIce. When you add color to it, it does become sticky so I wear gloves and I use a little cornstarch. You can also purchase it already colored which I do do for red and black.

My tip would be to make sure you roll it several inches larger than the cake you are covering. Lay your fondant over the top of the cake but make sure the fondant on the sides are away from the cake. Smooth the top first and then smooth the sides by gently holding the fondant at the bottom away from the cake. This will help you prevent wrinkles at the base.