I'm At A Crossroads..

Business By mkolmar Updated 26 May 2008 , 4:24am by mkolmar

mkolmar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mkolmar Posted 25 May 2008 , 6:34pm
post #1 of 15

I graduated earlier this month with a general culinary arts degree and certificate. I've been renting out the kitchen in the church I belong to for a year and a half. so I can be legal The plan was that I would really start doing more business wise after graduating. Which is slowly happening.
I have since decided that the church that I belong to may not be right for me any longer. (this is hard for me since I've been there since birth. I love my pastor and his wife but even though I like his son who is co-pastor, and just joined our church last year, his preaching style and manner I don't like at all.)
I'm thinking of changing churches or only going on the days that my pastor preaches on since they rotate. I don't feel right renting out the kitchen there because of this. What do I do? I have a few orders I need to do coming up within the next 2 months and a wedding cake next year.

I've been toying with the idea of just being done anyways to concentrate on learning some new skills and apprenticing under someone for a while. However, I keep getting orders which tends for me to question if I should. Now with me not knowing if I should continue renting from the church or not is really throwing me for a loop. I honestly just can't see the forest because of the trees right now. Guess I just needed to get some advice and get this off of my chest since anytime I try talking to a friend or family member they just don't understand.

14 replies
chutzpah Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chutzpah Posted 25 May 2008 , 6:48pm
post #2 of 15

Have you found a new church? Maybe the new church also has a kitchen you can rent.