Help Please! Fondant Has Brought Me To Tears!

Decorating By tophersmommy Updated 3 Jun 2008 , 9:47pm by BeckySue

tophersmommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tophersmommy Posted 25 May 2008 , 1:56am
post #1 of 34

Okay, I am making my cousing's wedding cake in 2 weeks and I have started to practice because it's my first time using fondant. I followed the directions for MMF to the tee and my fondant tears. No matter how much shortening or water I add to get it to not tear, it still tears. I have tried this twice now and I don't know what to do! Please help me!

33 replies
tophersmommy Posted 25 May 2008 , 1:57am
post #2 of 34

Also....if there's anyone who lives in the Salt Lake City area and would be willing to help me out....please PM me. I am desperate!

HeatherBelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HeatherBelle Posted 25 May 2008 , 1:59am
post #3 of 34

Diane?

*If this is not Diane from LT & IDOB, I apologize. icon_smile.gif

As for your question, I have not yet attempted MMF. I'm not that brave! icon_lol.gif BUT, I'm certain that many of these more experienced ladies will have suggestions for you. They might want more information though - like which recipe you used, how thick you're rolling it, etc. icon_smile.gif

michellesArt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
michellesArt Posted 25 May 2008 , 2:06am
post #4 of 34

i prefer to use satine ice-already to use, you just colour it however you want and roll it out just the same. i tried mmf and to me it just didn't feel the same but i do know a lot of people here swear by it hth icon_smile.gif

noosie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
noosie Posted 25 May 2008 , 2:09am
post #5 of 34

I have to say, I have made mmf several times and although it does taste good I lover working with satin ice fondant. It is super easy to work with and tastes pretty good too. For the couple extra dollars it is totally worth ever penny and offers much less frustration.