I'm Sad... Business Will Be Changing.. Without Me.

Business By Cakenicing4u Updated 24 May 2008 , 6:30pm by SweetConfectionsChef

Cakenicing4u Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakenicing4u Posted 24 May 2008 , 5:07am
post #1 of 10

icon_cry.gif I consider it a blessing that I was able to get my FT job as a cake decorator..... I have learned a lot and I'm a better baker and decorator for what I have learned. I LOVE MY JOB. Today, my bosslady told me that she is so burnt out and she is going to scale back the business, and that by October or so, it won't include me any more. icon_cry.gificon_cry.gificon_cry.gificon_cry.gificon_cry.gif She is going to maintain the business as a solo part time business, only accepting certain orders and one to two wedding cakes a week. I understand her decision, really I do... she's always at work and she is missing out on things with her kids and the kids aren't getting any younger. We have just been so incredibly busy that it's hard to do everything in a week and we're running out of room and we're turning away a lot of orders because we just simply can't do anymore.

icon_confused.gificon_cry.gificon_confused.gificon_cry.gif I wish I could talk her out of it or figure something else out.... I LOVE my bosslady and I love working there... but at the same time I have seen her struggle and I know how many hours she puts in and I feel bad every time I leave knowing she'll be there another 5 hours at least.

Just wanted to cry on a friends' shoulder...

9 replies
just_desserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
just_desserts Posted 24 May 2008 , 5:25am
post #2 of 10

Wow, that's a bummer. Anyway she can cut back but still let you work? If she cut back some now and gradually kept cutting back so the two of you could handle it without her killing herself, seems like that would make more sense.

But then again, it could be because of all the "red tape" involved in having employees. Just easier when it's just you.