Outdoors Decorating Contest For Kids - Advice Please

Decorating By lsienna Updated 24 May 2008 , 11:52pm by johnson6ofus

lsienna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lsienna Posted 24 May 2008 , 12:23am
post #1 of 5

Hello,

I am will invloved in a big equestrian event late this summer where I will be putting on a decorating contest for kids. I am a complete newbie and will be donating a theme/3d cake at this event with free advertising and a tent to promote my business. In exchange, I need to perform some sort of decorating contest for kids.
The event planner suggested cookies or cupcakes aprox. 250-300 for the day. I am guessing that there will be say 15 - 20 kids per session for each contest. The idea is to have it be fun and casual for the kids.
I was thinking sugar cookies might be easier to do than baking all those cupcakes, and freezing them so i can get started way ahead of time. I saw a decent looking recipe here on cc for sugar cookies that hold their shape. Is it ok to freeze the sugar cookies - how far ahead of time will be ok?
Also, what sort of icing recipe/decorations and set up might be the easiest to do this? This will be outside I believe and not sure if the contest will be under a tent.
In any case, any suggestions for this newbie on how to make this happen successfully? I am thinking about best recipe for icing (so it doesn't melt). I am thinking providing basic icing colors in various bags held in small buckets at different stations along with sprinkles and such.
Any ideas, suggestions, recipes, tips would be most appreciated. This newbie is a little stressed but this is definitley an opportunity I cannot pass up as it will be a great way to promote my new business specializing in 3d/theme cakes to an affluent VIP crowd.

4 replies
johnson6ofus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
johnson6ofus Posted 24 May 2008 , 12:49am
post #2 of 5

kids are "my bag"... icon_smile.gif

I would freeze cookies ahead of time- simple shape like stars or circles.