My First Wedding Cake - Would Anyone Care To Mentor Me?

Decorating By dessert1st Updated 22 May 2008 , 2:09am by sugarshack

dessert1st Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dessert1st Posted 21 May 2008 , 10:37pm
post #1 of 11

Hi. I am making a friend's wedding cake in 9 days. It's my first ever. I have taken Wilton courses 1,2 &3, and I'm currently taking their Fondant & Gum Paste course, so I have some knowledge. I just purchased all 3 of Sharon's (Sugar Shack's) DVD's, and will watch them this evening. Just so you know where I stand on basic knowledge. Did I say, Thank God for Cake Central?!?!

My friend gave me a picture out of a magazine (yes, of a professionally decorated cake!) and wants me to do something very similar. She is not being picky at all and will be fine if I adapt it to meet my skills. (Her Bridal Shower cake was completely my choice, so I know she's serious about that.)

The picture is 4 tiers, each 6 inches high, decorated in buttercream. I will be using Sharon's recipe for the frosting. It has a small amount of scrollwork, and a few gum paste flowers. The Bride did request that the flowers be roses. If necessary, I can add a small amount of burgundy as an accent.

The cake is to serve 175 people.

OK, let me have it! Honestly, I will be very appreciative of any tips or suggestions. TFL!

10 replies
pjaycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pjaycakes Posted 21 May 2008 , 11:38pm
post #2 of 11

It sounds like your ready for it (especially if you have Sharon's DVDs icon_biggrin.gif ). Just make sure you stay organized and do things in steps. Like bake one day (freeze if you do that), fill and crumbcoat the next day, ice and decorate the day before. This helps me stay organized. Are you transporting it stacked?

dessert1st Posted 21 May 2008 , 11:43pm
post #3 of 11