Can Someone Help Me With A Gumpaste Figure?

Decorating By yelle66 Updated 20 May 2008 , 9:30pm by LisaR64

yelle66 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yelle66 Posted 20 May 2008 , 7:29pm
post #1 of 6

I can't seem to get him how I wanted. He keeps sinking into himself. How do I keep him sitting up without having him sink into himself? Should I start all over? He is still pretty soft up top. Also, I don't think his face looks like what I want. Any hints there? I don't know how to get an image right on this screen, so I will attach it.

Thanks for any help anyone can offer,

Danielle
LL

5 replies
Bellatheball Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bellatheball Posted 20 May 2008 , 7:52pm
post #2 of 6

I'm no expert but can you put a toothpick in him? Either way, he's ADORABLE!

diane Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
diane Posted 20 May 2008 , 8:09pm
post #3 of 6

maybe you should have done the bottom(legs) first and let it dry, then do the top. this way the bottom would be more stable. icon_wink.gif

butterflywings Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
butterflywings Posted 20 May 2008 , 8:14pm
post #4 of 6

first, i think he's freakin' adorable! maybe make his middle more pudgy & rounded some, therefore more stable and maybe make his legs separate from the torso

bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 20 May 2008 , 8:23pm
post #5 of 6

I think that he is really cute! icon_biggrin.gificon_biggrin.gificon_biggrin.gif

When I do figures, sitting like yours, I make everything upto the neck. To make it stable I always insert a dry speghetti. A bit of speghetti should come above the neck. Then I make the head and insert it to the speghetti. If you want to get an idea how to do the face, here is the link to aine2's " How to make a face " in her blog.

http://www.lorraine-icingonthecake.co.uk/masterclass/face-howto.htm

HTH. icon_smile.gificon_smile.gificon_smile.gif

LisaR64 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LisaR64 Posted 20 May 2008 , 9:30pm