Cards For A Poker Cake

Decorating By bella7497 Updated 16 May 2008 , 1:26am by BellaBabyCakes

bella7497 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bella7497 Posted 15 May 2008 , 2:09am
post #1 of 10

I'm looking for some ideas on how to create playing cards to put onto a Poker cake. I am new to cake decorating so any ideas would be appreciated.

9 replies
Shola Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shola Posted 15 May 2008 , 5:31am
post #2 of 10

I'd say easiest way would be gumpaste and fondant mix 50/50 or extra gumpaste for hardness, roll thin, cut the shape, wait for it to harden and paint the card you want with gel colour, I can't think of a simpler way to do it, if there is one I'm sure someone will put me right! icon_smile.gif

thecakebox Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thecakebox Posted 15 May 2008 , 6:01am
post #3 of 10

If you search on the wilton website for poker cake, they have one with instructions, I just used a ruler to cut the cards, let them dry and wrote the numbers and suits with food safe markers..HTH

wgoat5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wgoat5 Posted 15 May 2008 , 10:10am
post #4 of 10

Some people do the fondant or gp or a mix and then do edible images on them icon_smile.gif

michellesArt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
michellesArt Posted 15 May 2008 , 1:42pm
post #5 of 10

i agree a fondant/gumpaste would be the easiest way to go-dries nice and hard and you could cut it out with a cookie cutter or ruler and exactoknife-i woudl probably use food safe markers to decorate when dried

BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 15 May 2008 , 4:56pm
post #6 of 10

I found cheap plastic chocolate molds for the aces, some face cards, and a joker. I dusted the molds with some cornstarch and molded the cards out of fondant. I didn't fill the molds to the top, just about halfway up so that the cards would be somewhat thin. I let them dry and then painted them with Americolor colors mixed with a bit of vodka.