What Would You Do?

Decorating By courtney1009 Updated 14 May 2008 , 9:28pm by foxymomma521

courtney1009 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
courtney1009 Posted 14 May 2008 , 12:07pm
post #1 of 21

I'm new to cake decorating. My husband is a teacher so I send all of my cake experiments to his school to solicit opinions. One of the teachers asked for my recipes, because she decorates cakes on the side too. I have spent countless hours coming up with all of my recipes, and I'm torn as to whether to give her the recipe or not. If she didn't sell cakes too I would definately just give it to her, but considering that she could sell cakes to all of the same people I could, I don't know what to do. Right now I'm thinking I"m probably just going to give it to her.... but I was curious what everyone else would do.

20 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 14 May 2008 , 12:13pm
post #2 of 21

Have you ever noticed that the same recipe tastes different when made by two different people? I've noticed that...when I share a recipe, it comes out different from mine anyhow.

If you don't want to give her your recipes, don't. You can either just fib a little bit and say that you're using some out of a book from the library, or from the Wilton yearbook, and that you just change the flavorings around a bit to go with the cake flavor, or you can tell her that you don't share your recipes.

I have one recipe that I don't share with anyone. And when I tell them no, I say, "It's a family recipe that I've promised not to share."

becklynn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
becklynn Posted 14 May 2008 , 12:14pm
post #3 of 21

I'd have to say no. Especially since you're the one who spent hours creating these recipes, and she's also a decorator!!

HerBoudoir Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HerBoudoir Posted 14 May 2008 , 12:23pm
post #4 of 21