Newbie Wanting To Try Fbct

Decorating By ebear Updated 14 May 2008 , 2:27pm by ebear

ebear Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ebear Posted 14 May 2008 , 1:00am
post #1 of 5

Hi all..I'm a newbie to cake decorating and a newbie to this site. (which I LOVE!)
I would like to make a FBCT but I'm intimidated by them..Can I buy black icing in the tube from the store to make the outline or should the BC for be homemade for all of it? Also..once its outlined and coloured in do you smooth it out with a neutral colour? If I do that won't all the other colours bleed together?
I'm sure all this is repetative but ahhhhhhhh..I need help!
Thanks! icon_biggrin.gif

4 replies
Ladivacrj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ladivacrj Posted 14 May 2008 , 1:26pm
post #2 of 5

Hi ebear and Welcome to CC,

I have never used the premade black but it should work if you don't want to make it yourself.

Once you outline and color in your picture I usually smooth the back so the icing is pressed down filling in all of the wholes (if there were any) and flatten the picture.

it doesn't matter if it's blended because it's the back (the part going up against the cake surface).

If the picture is small or intricate I add a layer of the base icing color to make it more sturdy and thick.

I have a FBCT of a fish in my pics. They are so much fun.

HTH and Good Luck!!!!!

Ladiva

ebear Posted 14 May 2008 , 2:03pm
post #3 of 5

Thanks for the info! icon_biggrin.gif Now..once I do the outline and the colour do I have to let it set before I smooth the back out or just do it all at once?

whimsy_chick Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
whimsy_chick Posted 14 May 2008 , 2:23pm
post #4 of 5

Hi ebear- don't be scared! I just did a fbct of Darth Vader for the first time. I used the buttercream recipe that is attached with the directions on how to do a fbct from this site, wriiten by cali4dawn. I used Americolor black gel to color the buttercream icing for Darth's head. I had no bleeding color issues.