Fondant Covered Cakes...use Only Shelf Stable Fillings???

Decorating By tomatoqeen Updated 13 May 2008 , 2:15pm by MacsMom

tomatoqeen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tomatoqeen Posted 13 May 2008 , 6:53am
post #1 of 7

Hi!! I am new to decorating and this site. Love everyone and all the wonderful info. Please excuse this question. I know fondant covered cakes should not be refrigerated due to sweating, but does this mean only shelf-stable fillings can be used?? If so, how do you know what fillings to use?? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!! icon_smile.gif

6 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 13 May 2008 , 7:14am
post #2 of 7

I usually fill mine with buttercream or jam. I'm sure other people have come up with much tastier fillings, though icon_biggrin.gif I can't wait to see what they suggest. By the way, this was a very good question icon_biggrin.gif

thecakebox Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thecakebox Posted 13 May 2008 , 7:46am
post #3 of 7

I would definitely test this in your own kitchen/refrigerator...but that being said, I always refrigerate my fondant covered cakes and have never had a problem with sweating so I pretty much use whatever filling I want icon_smile.gif If you want to leave it out, ganache is very good and is shelf stable for a day or two, you can also buy fillings from cake stores that are shelf stable, HTH..

bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 13 May 2008 , 10:34am
post #4 of 7

Hi there, I always use buttercream. the only thing I do with fresh cream is the Ganache. I'm sure you can do fruit fillings and curds. I'm a person who deosn't like to put my cakes in the fridge. So no creams and cheeses.

MosMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MosMom Posted 13 May 2008 , 1:39pm
post #5 of 7