Is Tuk-N-Ruffle Even Used Anymore?

Decorating By cakeryluv Updated 12 May 2008 , 4:27am by joy5678

cakeryluv Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeryluv Posted 8 May 2008 , 6:34pm
post #1 of 32

I'm building my supplies and I'm wondering how often you Tuk-n-Ruffle your cakes? At the bakery we were required to use it for any round cake, but I sure haven't seen it used much lately. Is it too old-school and out of style?

31 replies
levinea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
levinea Posted 8 May 2008 , 7:29pm
post #2 of 32

I'm fairly new to decorating, but I really think that it's out of style now. I haven't seen these on cake boards in years. It might look right around a cake that was really frilly with lots of RI work or flowers, but for cakes with cleaner designs, I just never see them used.

chutzpah Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chutzpah Posted 8 May 2008 , 7:42pm
post #3 of 32

Haven't you heard?? The 80s called and they're demanding their tuk-n-ruffle back!!!

Amymnn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Amymnn Posted 8 May 2008 , 7:48pm
post #4 of 32

Add me to yet another dork list. icon_biggrin.gif
I use it for fancier cakes.

LNW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LNW Posted 8 May 2008 , 7:52pm
post #5 of 32

I actually saw two older women battling it out for a tuk-n-ruffle kit at Hobby Lobby once. So yeah there are some folks who still use them but Iâve always considered them totally old fashioned. I wouldnât waste my money. If someone ever requests it you can always pick it up later. I highly doubt it will ever come up though.

darandon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
darandon Posted 8 May 2008 , 8:05pm
post #6 of 32

I saw a box at michaels, tucked up on the top shelf collecting dust. I haven't seen it on a cake in years in my area.

Tootall Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tootall Posted 8 May 2008 , 8:20pm
post #7 of 32

I don't even know what it IS! icon_lol.gif Seriously... What is it? icon_confused.gif