Beginning Supplies

Decorating By hsswoosh Updated 7 May 2008 , 2:37am by CakeRN

hsswoosh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hsswoosh Posted 6 May 2008 , 9:19pm
post #1 of 10

I have posted in the decorating forum but, I didn't see this one. I'm new to cake decorating and need to stock up on supplies and etc. I was wondering everyones opinions on what I need, what are good brands, good products, and etc. All the details and tips to great cake making! Please let me know all those little secrets! hehe! Thanks so much!

9 replies
crellyd99 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crellyd99 Posted 6 May 2008 , 9:35pm
post #2 of 10

I am also interested, bumping to help get feed back.

Malakin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Malakin Posted 6 May 2008 , 9:38pm
post #3 of 10

Wish there was an easy answer, but with so much selection out there, and a lot of good quality stuff, it would come down to personal preference and availability in your area. I live in a rural area and most of what we have are Wilton products at Walmart. Reasonably priced, decent quality, and easist to buy here. Wilton does sell beginner kits and also offers classes. Sorry can't offer more advice.

mmgiles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mmgiles Posted 6 May 2008 , 9:39pm
post #4 of 10

Besides tip, plan to have lots of extra couplers. Dont waste your money on plastic tips or liquid food colorings. Stick with things that the professionals use, usually they're less expensive anyway.

Get contact paper to cover your cake boards (dont use foil), dont waste your money on Wilton brand fondant (its expensive and it tastes gross). Maybe buy it (or preferably satin ice) once, so you understand how the texture should be, but make your own marshamallow fondant after that.