Making A Price List- Help!

Decorating By SueW Updated 9 May 2008 , 3:46pm by mcelromi1

SueW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SueW Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 4:24am
post #1 of 37

OK, so I am pretty new to this cake/cookie decorating and so far pretty much do orders for friends. Lately they have passed my name on and now it is for "friends of friends". I am starting to have trouble quoting prices because..... well I have no idea where to start.

I guess my question it how on Earth do I come up with a basic price list??? All I really have done so far a cookies (NFSC with royal) and basic cakes as well as cupcake cakes. The largest cake I have made was 12inch round and I think I only charged 30$. I keep saying "how about 30 $.. 40$ ... ) whatever I think if fair in my head but this can't go on much longer.

Can anyone help me figure out how to price things for a beginner decorator ie. cookies , ccc's and up to 12' rounds without being stacked or tiered.

Thanks, sorry this is so long I am so stressed about his but realize now I NEED a list so I don't have to go through this every time I have an order icon_cry.gif

SueW

36 replies
leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 29 Apr 2008 , 2:17am
post #2 of 37

I suggest add up the cost of your ingredients and about how long it will take you to make the cake (include grocery shopping, baking, cleaning, decorating, ALL of it) and then figure out an hourly rate. Add it all together and you have your price for the cake

meldancer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
meldancer Posted 29 Apr 2008 , 2:41am
post #3 of 37