Fbct?

Decorating By TheCakerator Updated 30 Apr 2008 , 2:31pm by TheCakerator

TheCakerator Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheCakerator Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 12:20am
post #1 of 22

Ok so I am planning on a fbct sometime this week. I have never done one of these before, but I do understand the concept of doing it .. I think .. anyways, the colors that are going to be used will be lots of red and some yellows .. I was just wondering how early I can put it on my cake, frosted in buttercream dream icing off this site, and be sure that it won't bleed off? I want the main part of the cake to be white, and just the colors to be on the fbct .. I hope Im explaining this right ... any help would be great, thanks!

21 replies
JodieF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JodieF Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 12:37am
post #2 of 22

When I have done FBCT I ice the back with a thin layer of white once my image is frozen, then I put it back in the freezer. Once the whole thing is frozen I put it on the cake. I also put a small border of white to fill in the gap at the edge. That way the colors don't touch the white cake.

msthang1224 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msthang1224 Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 2:31am
post #3 of 22

I do them all the time and I have never had a problem with the colors bleeding onto the cake. But, then again, I use royal icing to outline & fill-in my fbct and they come out great all the time. I have some pics in my photos. Take heed when looking that I have yet to master the smoothing technique icon_smile.gif oh, just make sure that your pic is completely frozen before applying to your cake.

I hope this helps

andpotts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
andpotts Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 4:59am
post #4 of 22

Great tip about using royal to outline msthang, thanks!

mjballinger Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mjballinger Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 5:25am
post #5 of 22