Help With Putting Two Cakes Together Side By Side

Decorating By SaraO Updated 21 Apr 2008 , 12:59am by bcake1960

SaraO Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SaraO Posted 18 Apr 2008 , 1:17am
post #1 of 8

I have some questions about putting two cakes together because I have never done it before. I am making a long cake that will be composed of two 12 by 12 inch cakes side by side. On top of that I am going to put the Pablo character cake. If anyone could help with any of the following questions I would really appreciate it:

1) My box is only 23 inches long so I need to cut off 1/2 and inch from each cake. Do you think I should cut it from where the 2 cakes meet?

2) Is there any good way to keep the cakes from sliding apart when I transport it?

3) Should I put frosting in the area between where the 2 cakes meet?

4) I'm debating whether or not to make the horizon where the 2 cakes meet. If I do that, then, it won't look so bad if they slide apart. But overall the cake would probably look better if I put the horizon lower down. How much of a chance do you think there is that the cakes are going to slide apart?

Thanks for any help you can give me!

Sara

7 replies
Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 18 Apr 2008 , 1:27am
post #2 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaraO

1) My box is only 23 inches long so I need to cut off 1/2 and inch from each cake. Do you think I should cut it from where the 2 cakes meet?

yes, easiest place to hide the change.

Quote:

2) Is there any good way to keep the cakes from sliding apart when I transport it?

a) glue the two halves together at the joint w/ BC and b) glue the halves to the board by smearing BC on the board before putting the cakes on

Quote:

3) Should I put frosting in the area between where the 2 cakes meet?

yes, see #2 above

Quote: