Marketing?

Business By Rhienn Updated 20 Apr 2008 , 2:50am by momsandraven

Rhienn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rhienn Posted 14 Apr 2008 , 4:02pm
post #1 of 20

So - I'm just starting out and I've gotten rave reviews on every job I've done... but I really need to book more jobs. I'm getting referrals, but just not enough.
I'm doing google adwords.
I'm doing tons of promo activity at mom's groups, women's events, corporate meetings, etc.

Any other ideas? What did you seasoned pros do to really ramp up your business? I'd love to book a few weddings this summer.

19 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 15 Apr 2008 , 12:40am
post #2 of 20

I'd talk to some wedding planners. Since it looks like you do ONLY cupcakes (and I did see that you do side cakes, too), that kinda narrows down the percentage of weddings you'll get. So I'd find out from wedding planners how many weddings (out of 10 or out of 25) are cupcake wedding cakes. That will at least give you an idea of the market out there.

Pound the pavement with your box of 4 or 6 sample cupcakes to area businesses. Join a networking group (or 2 or 3) to make connections with HR people and corporate trainers (who are usually in charge of company christmas parties, trainings where meals are needed, employee appreciation days); florists and others in the wedding business. I belong to 2 networking groups ... only joined in the past few weeks/months ... and I dont' know how I ever survived without these groups. Plus they are really really fun!

Mike1394 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mike1394 Posted 15 Apr 2008 , 10:39am
post #3 of 20

You want cheap marketing. Do you have a fax machine? Get together a promotional letter introducing yourself. Go to your yellow pages.com look up a target audience icon_cool.gif start faxing your letters.

Mike

MichelleM77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MichelleM77 Posted 15 Apr 2008 , 12:07pm
post #4 of 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike1394