How Do You Feel About...copying Cakes?

Decorating By AJsGirl Updated 17 Apr 2008 , 6:43am by tonedna

AJsGirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AJsGirl Posted 11 Apr 2008 , 12:45pm
post #1 of 91

This just came up because someone asked me if they could copy one of my cakes. I'm just a hobbyist, and this isn't my income source, only a stress-reliever and something I really enjoy doing. My first reaction was to be flattered, but now, I feel kind of protective of my design. I'm going to let them do it, though.

So it brought up the question, how do you all feel if someone copies your design? Not stealing pictures - making the cake themselves, just doing exactly like you did.

Just wanted to see some different perspectives. icon_wink.gif

90 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 11 Apr 2008 , 1:11pm
post #2 of 91

It's the highest compliment. If I didn't want it copied, I'd keep the pics under lock and key wouldn't let anyone see them.

deb12g Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deb12g Posted 11 Apr 2008 , 4:45pm
post #3 of 91

I agree...it is a wonderful compliment when someone wants to copy your work!

jadak Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jadak Posted 11 Apr 2008 , 4:56pm
post #4 of 91

I also think it is a HUGE compliment. If I wasn't willing to share my designs, I would have to not post my pictures, because some people will copy what they see without even asking for permission.

KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 11 Apr 2008 , 4:59pm
post #5 of 91

i agree BIG compliment!!! The only time it stinks is when they do it better LOL i've had that happen plenty of times!

BrandisBaked Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BrandisBaked Posted 11 Apr 2008 , 5:07pm
post #6 of 91

I've had several people ask how I did something so that they could replicate it... Of course! Glad to help! The only thing I asked was to see the finished design. To date, no one has ever followed through and sent me a pic or a link.