How Much Notice Do You Require Your Customers Give You??

Decorating By Jayde Updated 8 Apr 2008 , 9:26pm by Jayde

Jayde Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jayde Posted 6 Apr 2008 , 4:20pm
post #1 of 25

Ok, not really for wedding cakes, more for party cakes, but how much notice do you require your customers give you for an order??

How many party cakes do you take on in a weekend?

Just curious, I suppose....

24 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 6 Apr 2008 , 4:37pm
post #2 of 25

As much as possible. I'm 95% weddings, so I just work in party cakes. Working by myself, I can do 900 total servings in a weekend. However many cakes that turns out to be. 600 servings is way more comfortable.

Suzycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Suzycakes Posted 6 Apr 2008 , 4:41pm
post #3 of 25

I am just a part time baker/decorator. I work a fulltime 'real' job! LOL!! So my time is very limited -- but in the rural area I am in I feel like I have to be flexible to help build up my "hopeful" future business --

With that said - I love to have 4 days notice -- however - I can do a 2 day notice and have done a 1 day notice - but am not happy with the 2 and 1 unless there is absolutely nothing else on order.

Most of my customers give me at least a week and a lot of them give me 2 to 3 weeks advance notice which is wonderful!

Suze

morgnscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
morgnscakes Posted 6 Apr 2008 , 4:51pm
post #4 of 25

I, too, live in what you would call a rural area and have a full time career job. I usually get a 4 to 5 days notice and some of my customers give me up to a week to 2 weeks notice. I usually require at least a 4 days notice just because of my full-time position. I have completed an order with a 1 days notice. On party cakes, I usually do no more than 3 or 4 per weekend, depending on their size. Wedding cakes are a whole different story.

icon_lol.gif

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile