Calling All Michigan Bakers!!

Business By Sweet-Dreams Updated 9 Apr 2008 , 3:07pm by kneadacookie

Sweet-Dreams Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sweet-Dreams Posted 6 Apr 2008 , 2:54am
post #1 of 18

Hey everyone! I know this will sound pretty desperate, but I was wondering if there are any Southeastern Michigan bakeries hiring extra help?! icon_redface.gif

I've been decorating cakes for a year now, but I can't find any jobs at the big bakeries around here. I took all 3 Wilton classes last summer and am planning on taking a cake decorating course at the local community college this summer. I can do the basics and I'm a great student. Teach me what you know, I'll soak it up like a sponge!! The main bakery near me is owned by a big Italian family and only hires family members. The grocery stores won't touch me either since I'm only 16. icon_rolleyes.gif

I can work any time, however, because I'm enrolled in a "Honors High School Diploma" program through Indiana University High School over the internet. I can complete my work any time during the day, thus, I can work with you any time of the day!

If you can't help me, maybe point me in the right direction!? I'm hoping to become an anesthesiologist after college and then open my own bakery when I retire (I know, big dreams icon_biggrin.gif) Thanks for all your help! I absolutely love this site!

Thanks,
Emily

17 replies
vickymacd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vickymacd Posted 6 Apr 2008 , 3:16am
post #2 of 18

I'm in Michigan too. Whereabouts are you in Michigan?

sweetideas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetideas Posted 6 Apr 2008 , 3:20am
post #3 of 18

I don't know how to help you but I want to give you a lot of credit for looking so far ahead! Keep working towards your dreams and they will happen! Good luck! I live in southeast Michigan but I don't know much, there's a bakery in Westland that I know hires off the street but I don't know where you are at. Best of luck!!