Cake Decorating Books/magazines That You Can't Live W/o

Decorating By Trixyinaz Updated 4 Apr 2008 , 11:23am by craftyone65

Trixyinaz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Trixyinaz Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 2:05am
post #1 of 9

I'm new to decorating and I'm addicted...thanks to you all and CC icon_lol.gif I'm on a mission to learn, learn, learn and learn some more! icon_razz.gif

I'm taking the Wilton classes, but would love to get my hands on a good cake decorating book that is a "show-how" book for people just starting out. I'm also interested in a getting a magazine subscription too.

There are so many out there it is overwhelming to try and determine which one is the best for beginners.

If you have any recommendations, I would love to hear them. Thanks in advance!

8 replies
bwonderful Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bwonderful Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 2:13am
post #2 of 9

The Well Decorated Cake by Toba Garrett has been helpful to me as I learn. She has a formal style though so if you're looking for all fun or whimsical style it might not be the best book. I get a lot of my books off overstock.com, they have great book prices.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 2:17am
post #3 of 9

I'm sure you will get some lists of books people will tell you they love. It depends on what all you are interested in learning.

My best suggestion is to check out your local library and see if they have any cake books. You can check them out and well check them out. Then if it is something you really think you want to have you can always buy them.

Same thing with book stores. Go and look at the books they have at your local book stores. You can flip through them and see if it has stuff you are interested in.