Can Anyone Tell Me How This Was Done.......

Decorating By chrissysconfections Updated 3 Apr 2008 , 6:37pm by melissa043

chrissysconfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chrissysconfections Posted 2 Apr 2008 , 2:09pm
post #1 of 13

I have someone interested in a carousel cake for a baby shower and I was searching the net looking for ideas. I really like this cake and I think it would be what they are looking for but I don't know how the horses where made. I'm thinking possibly chocolate transfers but I'm not sure and I've never done anything like that before.
I'm also having a hard time finding pics out there and CC isn't bringing up any hits either (when it's up) so I'm running out of time and short on ideas!

Does anyone know a place that sells the little plastic horses? I've seen quite a few cakes with them on it but no place to purchase it....not even DecoPac has anything.

Thanks in advance!
Chrissy
LL

12 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 2 Apr 2008 , 2:18pm
post #2 of 13

I agaree they probably are choco transfers.
Have you thought of a candy mold? Global Sugar art has some really interesting ones along w/some horse cutters.
Plain choco transfers are easy to do them maybe color them w/felt-tip pens OR paint them w/gel colors mixed w/vodka (or similar).
You won't get plastics that nice but you might try DecoPac.

melvin01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melvin01 Posted 2 Apr 2008 , 2:26pm
post #3 of 13

Looks like a chocolate transfer to me, too.

You could cut them out of fondant and paint, but the way they did it with the white chocolate looks very pretty.

dailey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dailey Posted 2 Apr 2008 , 2:43pm
post #4 of 13

i say definitely CC. looks somewhat similair to carleens horses and i know she mentioned that her's were done with chocolate...btw, her transfers are absolutely amazing!

http://www.frostingwithflair.com/html/cakes/html/single/html/carousel.html