Cookie Advice

Baking By joeskitty Updated 2 Apr 2008 , 8:05pm by linedancer

joeskitty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
joeskitty Posted 31 Mar 2008 , 2:56pm
post #1 of 10

Hello all

I'm new to the cookie world. I am making the NFSC recipe for favors for a bridal shower im putting on. So the theme is hot pink and lime green polka dots. I'm making 4 inch circle cookies. So heres the question. I bought some RI mix from the cake store cause ive never used it before and the lady there recommended it. Ok so this is what I was gonna do. Outline the cookie in white and then outline like quarter and nickel size dots in the other colors and then flood the white and then the colored circles. So if i do this will the colors run together? And do I have to let the out line dry before I flood with the colors. I really want a all smooth finish. Or should I just stick with doing the dots in fondant? Thanks for all your advice and help.

9 replies
stsapph Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stsapph Posted 31 Mar 2008 , 3:19pm
post #2 of 10

You need to let all outlines dry fully before flooding. You will also want to use a slightly thinner RI for the flooding than for the outlining. The way you are thinking will work, but the outline will stand out a bit. If you want it to be a very smooth finish, I would use the thinned RI in pink and carefully flood the cookies without an outline, and then once it is dry, either do the green dots in fondant, or flood the green RI on top. HTH!

linedancer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
linedancer Posted 31 Mar 2008 , 3:23pm
post #3 of 10