Frozen Butter Cream Transfer

Decorating By bjones3 Updated 3 Apr 2008 , 8:35pm by awolf24

bjones3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bjones3 Posted 26 Mar 2008 , 3:09pm
post #1 of 18

I'm new to cake decorating; I've just completed Courses 1 and 2. I can make flowers and basket weave and that sort've stuff. My question is: Can anyone tell me what the best method is to making a professional looking themed birthday cake (e.g., Sponge Bob, Scooby Doo, Elmo, etc) without using the stars. I've seen beautiful cakes that looked so professional with a picture of Sponge Bob. I ran across the Frozen Butter Cream Transfer idea last night. Is it easily done? I've had no luck at all with using piping gel on a traced sheet of waxed paper. My main intent in getting into this was to make cakes for my grandchildren. Now that I'm involved, I want the cakes to be beautiful and somewhat professional looking.

Betty Jones

17 replies
shelleylynn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shelleylynn Posted 26 Mar 2008 , 3:17pm
post #2 of 18

Yes I love doing fbct. It's a nice way to copy pictures in detail. Just make sure it's thick enough to put on a cake without breaking, but not too thick that it sticks up too far of the cake. Give yourself plenty of freezer time. Following the directions on this site is what I always do. Good luck!
Shelleylynn

CoutureCakeCreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CoutureCakeCreations Posted 26 Mar 2008 , 3:29pm
post #3 of 18

Yes, I love the frozen buttercream transfer method. Just be sure to follow the directions exactly. Take a look at my gallery. The spiderman cake and the Dora cake are fbct.

TheButterWench Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheButterWench Posted 26 Mar 2008 , 3:40pm
post #4 of 18

when you use the gel trasfer method, you pipe your outline and let it dry a little, then place your parchment paper with your outline onto your cake and with a brush or your finger,