Making Frist Tiered Cake, Help!

Decorating By Genny_yummies Updated 14 Jan 2013 , 11:06pm by JanH

Genny_yummies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Genny_yummies Posted 20 Mar 2008 , 2:20pm
post #1 of 12

I need help. I offered to make this cake for April 20th, and I've never done one like it before.
First I should say this is a free cake for my sister, well for my nephew's 4th birthday. Anyway, I wanted to make it my 1st tiered cake. I have read and studied all I can, but I've never made a tiered cake before.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated. The cake will be all BC with some MMF decorations on it. Please, what do I need to know?

11 replies
cerobs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cerobs Posted 20 Mar 2008 , 2:23pm
post #2 of 12

what size of pan you are going use?

crisseyann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crisseyann Posted 20 Mar 2008 , 2:23pm
post #3 of 12

Do you have a picture of the cake??

Molly2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Molly2 Posted 20 Mar 2008 , 2:36pm
post #4 of 12

make sure and dowel it I always put cake board rounds between each tier
Good Luck it'll be fun once you complete it don't stress

Molly2 thumbs_up.gif

akslice Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
akslice Posted 20 Mar 2008 , 2:41pm
post #5 of 12

I just made my first tiered cake and it isn't that hard. You just need to be organized and don't rush yourself. I made a 10 and 6 inch round. I trimmed the cardboards under the tiers so they were invisible. Make sure your cut your dowels so they are a speck shorter than the tier or it will raise the tier up on that side. Also make sure you have a sturdy base - they get heavy. When I transferred the 6 inch, it was tricky and I did nick icing, but after piping borders, it wasn't real noticable. Sugarshack is coming out with a dvd on successful stacking in late April. That promises to be great info - all of her other dvds are invaluable. Good luck!

summernoelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile