Questions About Italian Meringue Icing

Decorating By sweetsbycheryl Updated 24 Mar 2008 , 8:55pm by melysa

sweetsbycheryl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetsbycheryl Posted 19 Mar 2008 , 2:58pm
post #1 of 27

I am doing my first wedding in June. The bride, who is a joy to work with (thank heaven!! No bridezilla here!!) has requested a white sour cream cake, with a fruit filling (has not decided yet between lemon or strawberry). She wants a light and not too sweet icing on the cake and has suggested Italian Meringue, which I have never done before. How difficult is this icing to make, does it crust well, and how does it hold up under heat? Any help would be appreciated!! TIA icon_biggrin.gif

26 replies
FromScratch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratch Posted 19 Mar 2008 , 3:11pm
post #2 of 27

It is easy to make, does NOT crust, and I have had it stand up in 80+ degree weather before. It is a great icing to work with and it's super easy to smooth.

You do need to add enough flavoring to it. I make Swiss Meringue Buttercream because I don't like fussing with making the hot sugar syrup. It tastes exactly the same as the Italian version but you don't have to heat sugar and water to 248 degrees.

HTH's a bit. icon_smile.gif

melysa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melysa Posted 19 Mar 2008 , 3:12pm
post #3 of 27

it is a delicious icing. not difficult, but takes longer than traditional bc. it doesnt crust at all, but it firms up in the fridge, and can then be scraped smooth (use a bench scraper) and it holds up ok in the heat, but i suggest covering it with fondant as well. fondant is always the best option for summer outdoor events. if its inside with a/c, it should be fine alone. its a very stable icing.

tbittner Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tbittner Posted 19 Mar 2008 , 3:13pm
post #4 of 27