Satin Ice - Is It Worth The Money And Where To Buy

Decorating By puzzlegut Updated 22 Mar 2008 , 9:49pm by deanwithana

puzzlegut Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
puzzlegut Posted 15 Mar 2008 , 8:52pm
post #1 of 50

Thus far, I've been making MMF. Even though it's fairly easy to work with, I don't think I've found anybody that likes the taste or texture of it. I thought about maybe getting some Satin Ice, but I'm wondering if the taste and texture is better compared to MMF and if it's worth the money. Also, are there any good places online where I can order it and it's at a good price, and possibly good shipping rates (or even free shipping if you buy so much)?

49 replies
kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelleym Posted 15 Mar 2008 , 9:09pm
post #2 of 50

I am a veteran maker/user of MMF, and I have to say that it doesn't compare to Satin Ice as far as workability. I LOVE it when I can splurge on some Satin Ice. I've only tried the vanilla flavor, and the taste of it is really quite yummy, although to be honest, the smell is very strong. I highly recommend trying it for yourself. Global Sugar Art currently has it on sale, and they have great customer service: http://globalsugarart.com/cat.php?cid=799&aff=9X6GECBOFPB9 (or click one of the GSA banner ads that you see here on CC...purchasing when you click through the ad helps CakeCentral!) thumbs_up.gif

foxymomma521 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
foxymomma521 Posted 15 Mar 2008 , 9:14pm
post #3 of 50

I buy mine at www.fondantsource.com - use DOLLAR as a coupon code for $1 off your order
IEDITED TO ADD: DON'T BUY MINE AT GSA AND DIDN'T WRITE THAT THEY HAVE THE BEST PRICES.

foxymomma521 Posted 15 Mar 2008 , 9:15pm
post #4 of 50

pm me for the site

foxymomma521 Posted 15 Mar 2008 , 9:18pm
post #5 of 50

why can't I write it? it's not the forbidden site... are CCr's only allowed to shop at GSA?!

step0nmi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
step0nmi Posted 15 Mar 2008 , 9:21pm
post #6 of 50