Never Smooth Buttercream

Decorating By Lil_Belle Updated 22 Mar 2008 , 6:32pm by Lil_Belle

Lil_Belle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lil_Belle Posted 15 Mar 2008 , 6:33pm
post #1 of 17

This is my first time posting a question so please forgive me if it doesn't make sense icon_smile.gif . ok, my recipe for buttercream is the wilton one that's in the back of their books; 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup shortening, 4 cups of powdered sugar, 4 tablespoons of milk, and vanilla (I think). I can never get it very smooth, it seems to always have dozens and dozens of little air holes in it. I've tried adding more milk but I want that thick consistency for roses and such. Any help would be great! And hopefully this picture will help icon_smile.gif

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-photo_1198692.html

16 replies
KimsCakeCreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KimsCakeCreations Posted 15 Mar 2008 , 6:55pm
post #2 of 17

Have you tried using the VIVA papertowel method? Or the Melvira method?

K-

Lil_Belle Posted 15 Mar 2008 , 6:58pm
post #3 of 17

I have, that's what I did for this cake but the consistency of the bc never comes out really smooth icon_sad.gif.

lepaz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lepaz Posted 15 Mar 2008 , 7:04pm
post #4 of 17

I often have trouble with mine too, but the best thing that works for me is the hot spatula. Dip your spatula in a cup of hot water for a few seconds, wipe the water off and use it to spead the icing. The ladies here will probably give you plenty of pointers, so don't fear, help is here!

weirkd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
weirkd Posted 15 Mar 2008 , 7:05pm
post #5 of 17

I highly suggest using Sharon Zambito's video (sugar shack) on buttercream. Hr recipe is also given using high ratio shortening. It comes out as smooth as fondant when your done.

Lil_Belle Posted 15 Mar 2008 , 7:06pm
post #6 of 17
Quote:
Quote: