Calling All Mothers Of The Bride

Decorating By heychele Updated 20 Jan 2007 , 12:37am by mkolmar

heychele Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heychele Posted 3 Jan 2007 , 1:19am
post #1 of 29

I'm soooo excited my daughter got engaged over the Holidays!
We went today and looked at a reception hall and the woman was showing me the portfolio of the bakery that they use. The cake is usually included in one of the packages for the reception. I was appalled at what I saw! I am by no means a pro but I just can't see one of these cakes there!
My question is to all of you that have been Mother of the Bride, is it possible to throw a big wedding and still make her cake myself? Have any of you done it and how did it go?
I want to make it to the wedding day with at least a partial bit of my sanity left! Please let me know any advise that you have.

28 replies
MomLittr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MomLittr Posted 3 Jan 2007 , 1:28am
post #2 of 29

My daughter wanted for their wedding cake, chocolate seashells and had several designs she liked (the cake cost was included in the cost of the reception). Well I told her I would do the molding of the seashells and the baker can use to decorate. He would not use what I would make, but would charge $300 to make the chocolate seashells! icon_surprised.gif Well, you know what we wanted to tell him ........ icon_lol.gif ! What they decided to do was have the baker make a plain cake, and I made the chocolates (to the colors she wanted) and before the reception, went down and decorated the cake (thankfully the grooms mom was around and we did it together - very special). The theme for the reception was an ocean theme, and they used a large seashell for the topper. Check out my pics and you can see how it turned out - not too bad! Good luck with the wedding plans!

deb

Richard Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Richard Posted 3 Jan 2007 , 1:29am
post #3 of 29